National Quality Framework

The Australian National Quality Framework for early childhood education and care constitutes two important elements which govern the quality of the education and care of our youngest people.

1. The National Quality Standard

2. The Early Years Learning Framework.

The National Quality Standard (NQS)

The NQS sets the benchmark for high quality of education and care across all services in Australia.

All services are assessed across the following seven quality areas and an overall rating is given.


  1. Educational program and practice

  2. Children’s health and safety

  3. Physical environment

  4. Staffing arrangements

  5. Relationships with children

  6. Collaborative partnerships with families and communities

  7. Leadership and service management

The Early Years Learning Framework (EYLF) 

The Early Years Learning Framework outlines the principle, practices and educational and developmental learning outcomes essential for supporting young children's learning for the first five years of life, and their transition into school. In Victoria, we also adhere to the Victorian Early Years Learning and Development Framework (Based on the EYLF).

More about the EYLF / VEYLDF here.

© Copyright 2018 by Kinglake Ranges Children's Centre.

Contact Us

Tel: 03-5786-1352



37-69 Extons Road

Kinglake Central, VIC, 3757